Our Mission

Fayette County Farm Bureau Education Foundation, Inc. began in 1996 as a non-profit organization seeking to make a difference in students’ lives and in our local community’s future. Our goal is to identify, through a competitive application and interview process, Fayette County students whose past, present or future includes agricultural activities, and who are likely to make an impact upon our present and future Bluegrass Area. We provide scholarship support to selected individuals for a maximum of four consecutive semesters of full-time vocational/technical institutional studies. Scholarship Applications are below:

4 Year Undergraduate College Scholarship Application

2 Year Community and Technical College Scholarship

Scholarship Opportunities

The Fayette County Farm Bureau Education Foundation, Inc. awards a maximum of $20,000 in the amount of $5,000 per year. The scholarship recipient must demonstrate measurable academic progress toward earning a four-year undergraduate degree from an accredited college or university. Scholarships can be applied to tuition, housing, books, etc. Payments are made directly to the college of your choice. Scholarship committee decisions regarding award renewal are final.

The Fayette County Farm Bureau Education Foundation, Inc. will award up to $10,000 to a Fayette County student seeking a two-year community and technical degree/certificate from an accredited institution. Scholarship monies can be applied to tuition, housing, books, etc. Payments are made directly to the community and technical institution of your choice. The scholarship recipient must demonstrate measurable academic progress toward a two-year community and technical degree/certificate of completion from an accredited institution for second year renewal. Scholarship committee decisions regarding award renewal are final.

Kentucky Farm Bureau State Wide Scholarships  can be found here.

2017 Scholarship Recipients

Katharine "Meriwether" Carling 

Katherine “Meriwether” Carling is the daughter of Scott and Victoria Carling of Lexington.  She is a graduate of Henry Clay high school.  Meriwether plans to attend the University of Georgia and major in Biology with a minor in Business. She has served as the President of Go Green Club, Captain of the varsity soccer team, treasurer of the National Honor Society, as well as a leader of the dance committee for Henry Clay Dance Blue and she is a member of the Beta Club.  Meriwether has been a member and coach of the Girls on the Run Board, captain of the Commonwealth Soccer club, volunteer at UK Hospital and many more activities.  Meriwether has extensive experience with horses and plans to become a Veterinarian.

Ellis Brown

Ellis Brown is the son of James and Bridget Brown,. Ellis is a senior at Bryan Station High School in the Spanish Immersion Program, he is fluent in Spanish. He has set and maintained high academic standards throughout his high school career.  Ellis is an integral member of the Bryan Station High School Boys’ Lacrosse Team, obtaining All-Star honors. He is also an avid member of the jazz, symphonic, and marching bands. In addition to his academic and extracurricular pursuits, Ellis believes strongly in the benefits of community service, lending his time and skills to various charitable organizations. Ellis will attend Asbury University in the fall to pursue a degree in media communications.  It is his hope that work in the communications field would aid in putting the spotlight on community issues that are not routinely discussed.

Anne Waits

Anne Waits is the daughter of Robert and Julie Waits of Lexington.  She is a graduate of Lafayette high school.  Anne plans to attend Samord University in the fall and major in Communication Disorders with a minor in Psychology.  Anne served as vice- President of operations for the Lafayette Choir, Co Leader for the KY All State Baptist Choir and Vice President of the Outdoor’s Club.  Anne has been very active in her church, Calvary Baptist Church, 4-H and other youth organizations.  In her spare time she enjoys helping her dad on their beef cattle farm.  Anne’s goal is to graduate college and obtain her masters degree in communication therapy and speech pathology, eventually going on to pursue her doctorate.

Allison Shell

Allison Shell is the daughter of Joey Shell and Tami Martin from Lexington. Allison is a graduate of Locust Trace Agriscience Center and Lafayette high school. She plans to attend Eastern Kentucky University in the fall and major in agribusiness Management with a minor in Horticulture.  She served as FFA Chapter Secretary and was a part of the National Honors Society. Allison has a passion for horses and has also found a new love of plants and horticulture. Allison’s goal is to advocate for agriculture and help educate the community about how essential agriculture is on our daily lives.

Andrew Barton

Andrew Barton is one of the recipients of the 2017 Fayette County Farm Bureau Scholarship.  He was awarded $10,000 to attend the college of his choice toward obtaining an undergraduate degree. Andrew James Barton is a graduate of Lexington Catholic High School 2017. Andrew was born and raised in Fayette County, Kentucky to parents Richard and Lisa Barton. He has an older brother Brett who works full time on the family farm. Andrew has worked on the family farm since age five. He and Brett have raised a tobacco crop for the past five years. Andrew plans to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio in the fall of 2017. After completion of his diesel/agricultural degree,  Andrew plans to open a shop on the family farm. Andrew’s love for agriculture was influenced by his Papa Jimmy. Andrew’s appreciation for life is a gift from Papa Dicks. He has been blessed with awesome role models and plans to continue the tradition.




Past Recipients

Catherine White 94        Carrie Lynch        Jason Groth          Mary Grace Giles

Catherine White 1994                 Carrie Lynch 1994                   Jason Groth 1995              Mary Grace Giles 1996

Ryan Conboy 1996       samantha currens 97         Jessica Wofford 98        Elisha Reed 98

Ryan Conboy 1996               Samantha Currens 1997            Jessica Wofford 1998                    Elisha Reed 1998

Ericka Harney 99       Sarah Kelley 00        Emma Witt 00        Kessler McCoy-Simandle 00

Ericka Harney 1999                   Sarah Kelley 2000                  Emma Witt 2000          Kessler McCoy-Simandle 2000

Peyton Sands 00       Annie Laurie Ormsbee 01         Karen Hancock 02        Krista Buckel 02

Peyton Sands 2000            Annie Laurie Ormsbee 2001        Karen Hancock 2002               Kristen Buckel 2002

Sarah Conley 03        Erin Lynch                Robert Downing

Sarah Conley 2003                         Erin Lynch 2003                    Jessica Garrett 2004               Robert Downing 2004

Brian Conlon        Michelle Tucker        Sabrina Hounshell      Haylie Canham

Brian Conlon 2005                    Michelle Tucker 2006           Sabrina Hounshell 2007           Haylie Canham 2008

Amanda Conley          Alex Wade (2)        Graham Tucker        Taryn Bunch Senior pic

Amanda Conley 2009                       Alex Wade 2010                Graham Tucker 2010               Taryn Bunch 2010

Jessica Barnes Photo        Kris Little        Ester Vasilyuk        Danielle Milbern

Jessica Barnes 2011                     Kristian Little 2012                   Ester Vasilyuk 2012            Danielle Milbern 2013

Lauren Guilfoil           Madison Copher 2013          Ashley_Hardee         coleman

Lauren Guilfoil 2013                  Madison Copher 2013              Ashley Hardee 2014             Coleman Stivers 2014

David Ehlert 2015       Rachel Hart 2015(2)                   

David Ehlert 2015                       Rachel Hart 2015              Connor Krolak 2016            Keriann Ferguson 2016              Ryan Power 2016